…to the stars


Three influential compositions spanning more than 150 years unite in this dynamic program of string quartets. The composers, all known for their profound works, were often ahead of their times, most notably with Beethoven quipping, “They are not for you, but for a later age” to critics of his String Quartet Op. 59 No. 1. From old to new, each piece transcends the time and place in which it was created and underscores the healing and transformative power of music.


Philip Glass String Quartet No. 3 “Mishima”

Dmitri Shostakovich String Quartet No. 8 in C Minor, Op. 110

Ludwig van Beethoven String Quartet No. 7 in F Major, Op. 59 “Razumovsky” No. 1


John Vaida, violin
Arthur Moeller, violin
Amy Iwazumi, viola
Lisa Caravan, cello